Cloud County has three basketball players named to Region VI All-Region Teams

Cloud County has three basketball players named to Region VI All-Region Teams

CONCORDIA, Kansas — The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) announced the All-Region VI basketball teams on Tuesday, with three Cloud County Community College student-athletes receiving honors.

For the Cloud County women's team (23-9 overall, 18-8 KJCCC), sophomore forward Erin Alexander was voted a Second-Team All-Region player after nearly averaging a double-double this season at 12.3 points and 8.3 rebounds per game.

Alexander, who was also a Second-Team All-Region selection a season ago, led the KJCCC in blocks per game (3.2). It was the sixth best mark in the country.

The Washington County graduate leaves Concordia as Cloud County's all-time career shot blocker with 197 and fourth in rebounding (562). Alexander also owns school records for blocked shots in a season (99), most defensive rebounds in a game (16) and is tied for total rebounds in a game (22).

Sophomore guard Deon Lyle was a Second-Team All-Region selection for the Cloud County men's basketball team (20-11 overall, 16-10 KJCCC).

Lyle was lethal behind the 3-point line this season for the T-Birds, finishing with a school record 103 made 3-pointers, breaking the previous record of 95 put up by Reed Hein in 2005-06. The shooting guard out of Norton, Kansas averaged 15 points per game, tied for the team best with his backcourt mate, sophomore point guard Aamahne Santos.

Santos was voted Honorable Mention after averaging career highs in points (15.0), steals (1.7), rebounds (2.9) and boasting a 2.7 assist to turnover ratio.

Women's All Region VI Teams

First Team:

Mollie Mounsey, Seward County

Amy O'Neill, Cowley College

Joanna Grymek, Seward County

Bride Kennedy-Hopoate, Hutchinson

Dakota Vann, Butler

Second Team:

Kirea Rogers, Hutchinson

Erin Alexander, Cloud County

Inja Butina, Hutchinson

Taylor Stahley, Hutchinson

Katrina Roenfeldt, Barton

Honorable Mention:

Alanie Fisher, Coffeyville

Bridger Mimmo, Cowley College

Kendriana Washington, Butler

Alexus Johnson, Dodge City

DeRae Lewis, Garden City

Men's All-Region VI Teams

First Team:

Shakur Juiston, Hutchinson

Samajae Haynes-Jones, Hutchinson

Devon Andrews, Pratt

Josh Boutte, Dodge City

Anthony Smith, Barton

Second Team:

Ezekiel Charles, Barton

J.J. Rhymes, Hutchinson

Mike'l Simms, Cowley College

Deon Lyle, Cloud County

LaJuan Hardy, Butler

Honorable Mention:

Aamahne Santos, Cloud County

Tedrick Wolfe, Coffeyville

Jacolby Harris, Butler

Daron Mims, Allen County

Johnnathan Lindsey, Butler